Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

transformation desk to nightstand dresserI finally got this transformation done! I tried to give away this desk for a month! Yep, I tried at my garage sale last spring, Craiglist for the last month, and even my son for his new apartment. The desk is older, heavy, and it was the ugliest brown color.Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I know you are probably wondering “why did you ever buy it?” My answer is simple “it was $5 at a garage sale years ago and I needed a sewing and craft table”. After awhile the desk stopped being functional and it was so heavy to move. No one liked it and so I tried to sell it on Craiglist for $5, then $1, and then free but no one even inquired. So last weekend I asked hubby to help me take the desk outside so I could make it over. He grumbled and asked me “what could you possibly to do make this nice?” I said “I am going to cut it up.” I wish I had a picture of his eye rolls as he walked back in the house mumbling something under his breath.Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Well, this makeover cost me less than $5 to do. I did not want to buy anything special so I used what I had- left over textured wallpaper from a kitchen makeover I did for someone, scraps of small screen molding, and metallic silver Rustoleum spray paint from other projects. I spent less than $4 on a jar of sample Behr Marquee paint in ‘secret society’. My inspiration for the color came from the shirt I was wearing which I discovered while working on the desk made the gray come out in the laminate top. Yes I wore the shirt to Home Depot running my arm against all the grays in each color palette until I discovered ‘secret society’. (I drew the attention of onlookers probably wondering what I was doing) Since Behr Marquee is a paint and primer and it is Home Depot’s most durable interior paint, I decided to test and use it for this project. (I am not getting paid to advertise)Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I will show you step by step in the pictures what I did. I left the laminate top alone because there was no paint or primer that would stick so I decided to just go with it. Whatever process they used for this laminate, it is durable and since the piece may be going to Indiana to my son’s new apartment, it will suit a single guy perfect.Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I love to transform pieces of furniture and rooms. I love to use what I have to truly keep it low cost. The furniture piece is not perfect and I now think how I could have spent about $10 more and used wood filler to cover the imperfections and spent the time to sand to a perfect finish. But you know what? I really did not want to take the time because the piece will be used as a nightstand and the ‘imperfections’ are not obvious. Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I hope I have inspired you to transform an ugly piece of furniture into something pretty and useful. This desk was not an antique that was to be refinished but a piece to be painted. I love wood but sometimes you just have to paint it.

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Tip: always use masking or painter’s tap to keep laminate from chipping

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I measure to make sure I would cut past the leg and give a bit of lip (trying to match the other side)

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I always make a guide so I cut a straight line

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

The tape keeps the saw from chipping the laminate

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

After sawing the top, I removed the guide and now had to saw the rest apart

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Laid the desk down to finish cutting through. Always wear safety goggles and be safe

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I removed the screw and cut the wood so it would be easier to remove

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I turned the desk upside down to saw the underside off. This was tricky because I could not get that close to desk plus there were nails I could not get out.

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I tried to use the outside of the wood edge for a guide

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

It worked!

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I took out any screws and nails in my way of sawing or removing wood.

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

There was this strip left so I had to try and remove this

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

carefully used pry bar to try and remove this piece of wood. realized it went all the way through

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Used a wood chisel to remove the wood level with side of desk

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

happened to have a piece of flat screen molding to cover. I then added a piece to match on the opposite side to try and make the piece symmetrical

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Behr Marquee Secret Society 2 light coats after sanding the piece lightly to remove any glossy finish

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I taped off to paint the brass leg caps metallic silver to match the handles

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Now to the drawers

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

covered in the textured wallpaper. had granite 2x Rustoleum that coordinated with the Behr Marquee sample

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I had to carefully cut out pattern so it matched and blended with other drawers. This took more time than cutting the desk up

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Forgot: cleaned these up, primed, and then spray painted Metalallic

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Very light coats of spray paint on wallpaper

Thank you for stopping

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

I went over the wallpaper with polyurethane I had leftover from another project. Next time I will use ModPodge

Thanks for stopping by!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2015 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

4 thoughts on “Transform an ugly desk to a pretty nightstand dresser

Leave a Reply

