How I turned my garden lantern into a working light

garden lantern

I have had this garden lantern hanging around for years. I had a candle in it but never burned it. I tried a small plant it but never liked it. I always wished it was a real light that I could use to light up either the deck or some other area in my yard.

So after completing the antique outdoor light project, I had leftover extension cord, sockets from the new flood light (we used the motion sensor only), and an idea.

I would make this a light for my deck or my potting area. Actually I am leaning toward my potting area because I like to work out there at night. It gives me a calm when I work with my plants. I think many of you out there may know what I am talking about- doing something you love calms the soul and rejuvenates the mind. Oops I am wandering again…

The lantern had holes around the top and so I lucked out with the extension cord fitting through. I was so happy. I also was able to hide the socket from the flood light up in the dome of the lantern. This project was coming together so easy.

Sure I could have spray painted it but I like the metal look and since it is eventually going out to my potting area, I do want it to blend in with the décor and not stand out. Metal is rustic and so is my potting bench. A match made in the garden.

I have used extension cords to make light fixtures and even other cool objects into light over the years. It is fun thinking outside of the box when it comes to garden whimsy and home décor.

If you have a lantern or cool bucket or object to turn into a light, the steps I took to turn this lantern into a light can work for your project. Have fun, be creative, and love what you do.

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2015 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller

garden lantern turned light

The socket was easy to screw off

The socket was easy to screw off

There is a screw that holds the elbow on and remove the screw and pull apart

There is a screw that holds the elbow on and remove the screw and pull apart

This was the material list for the other lamp but I had more than enough white extension cord for this light

This was the material list for the other lamp but I had more than enough white extension cord for this light

This is the new plug end (about $3). I removed the screw to open to insert the extension cord wire

This is the new plug end (about $3). I removed the screw to open to insert the extension cord wire

this is what it looks like opened. Brass colored screw is for power, green for ground, and silver for white which is neutral ground

this is what it looks like opened. Brass colored screw is for power, green for ground, and silver for white which is neutral ground

You need to strip the wire about 1/2

You need to strip the wire about 1/2″ and then twist the copper wire tightly to make it easier to put in a hook and tighten.

I ran the electric cord through the hole at top of lantern and pulled it through to connect the socket

I ran the electric cord through the hole at top of lantern and pulled it through to connect the socket I also had wire to run through the top of the socket to fasten the socket to lantern

Wire the socket is as easy

Wire the socket is as easy

I then carefully pulled the wire to pull the socket into the recess and fasten with the wire which I thread through the holes in the top of the lantern as shown below

I then carefully pulled the wire to pull the socket into the recess and fasten with the wire which I thread through the holes in the top of the lantern as shown below

See the wires? twisted them to secure the socket and then cut off excess

See the wires? twisted them to secure the socket and then cut off excess

Leave a Reply

