Jane Magnolia -a spring blooming small specimen tree

Jane Magnolia tree

Jane Magnolia 2nd bloom in May after leaves emerged

Jane Magnolia, in my humble opinion, is a perfect specimen tree for smaller yards. The Jane Magnolia will grow for most anyone in zones 4b-8b and stays under 15′ feet tall and 12′ feet wide making is a perfect tree for small spaces. It also has been known to rebloom for me in late spring and early summer! It blooms as early as April 1st here in zone 7.

Jane Magnolia

First blooms in Late March early April before the leaves emerge

The care for this beautiful specimen is simple: do not let dry out during its first spring and summer and keep out of windy locations. My Jane Magnolia (in zone 7) receives late afternoon shade and has grown more as a bush than a tree. I purchased my Jane Magnolia about 5 years ago (I think) and it has filled out quite beautifully from when I bought it as a stick on the clearance racks 1/2 dead.

Jane Magnolia

Around April 1st

I find the Jane to be a medium grower and is subject to mildew which does not hurt the plant. However, it makes it quite unattractive up close. It does not bloom (for me) until end of March early April when the nighttime temps no longer dip below freezing.

Jane magnolia

6/17/14 3rd time its blooming!

The Jane does not get fertilized and is mulched with about 4″ of wood mulch. I have red Virginia clay and at the time I planted the Jane Magnolia I did not amend the soil. My soil is naturally amended by the decomposition of wood mulch. My beds have at least 4″ of wood mulch to help prevent weeds and hold I moisture and each year the mulch is freshened with an inch of new.

Jane Magnolia

Late April 2014 and 2nd time it bloomed

Not all plants will do will in heavy clay soil but so far the Jane has had no problems thriving. I love the beauty of this specimen in my front yard and I cannot wait to see if it reblooms 3 times this year (as it did last year).

Jane magnolia, www.thegardenfrog.me

Jane Magnolia

I highly recommend Jane Magnolia for smaller yards or as a specimen in a bed. When you choose your new tree, make sure that you plant the tree at the same level it in the pot, dig the hole about 4″ wider around, loosen up the roots, mulch, and water every day for 30 days and every 2-4 days depending upon rain and temps. I love planting right before it rains because I find my plants do better.Jane Magnolia

My life is filled with happy accidents and surprise blooms most of the year. I cannot stress enough how you have to work with Mother Nature and not against. I do not follow the rules and I do not spend a fortune on fertilizers, soil amendments, or even the plants that fill my many beds. I rescue plants from dumpsters and the ditches of our common areas where they should not be. I buy the markdown plants off the racks when I know they can be revived such as this Jane Magnolia. I do not buy everything and have discovered that there are certain plants that do not like my hard red Virginia clay soil.

Gardening is trial and error and what may work for one gardener may not work for you. I have followed the advice of others to find myself disappointed. I believe in keeping it simple with no fancy tools and words and that is why I write about the plants that can work for just an (beginner) gardener. If you think you can grow it, you can. Happy gardening everyone!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2015 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

2 thoughts on “Jane Magnolia -a spring blooming small specimen tree

  1. So pretty! I absolutely love magnolias and would literally pamper one if I had it in my yard! I have to find one of these and get it planted!

    Would love it if you would link up with me at my link party to share your creativity. People have to see this and all your great garden beauties.

Leave a Reply

