Using hostas in container gardening

container gardening with hosta

My antique red wagon holding a few pots greeting the passerby

 

There are so many varieties of  Hosta (and Plantains) that it is just a shame to just leave them in the ground. For years, I have divided my Hostas and used them in pots in shady spots and even on my deck under the gazebo. I love the way Hostas fill up a pot quickly and, except for watering, there is really nothing else to do. It is almost springtime and it will be the perfect time to divide Hostas. hosta in a pot

I find using Hostas are an inexpensive and creative way to add texture and color to large containers and pots too along with Impatiens, Creeping Jenny, and even Caladiums. The choices are endless and the hardest part will be choosing which Hosta, color, and height to use in your container gardening.

container gardening, hosta

Hosta and impatiens a great combo in my galvanized bucket!

If the blooms on your hosta interfere, cutting them off does not cause the plant any harm. However, if you decide to let the Hosta bloom depending upon the variety, the white or purple tubular flowers you will have Hummingbirds visiting.

hosta in container gardening

IN this large pot I used a hosta as a filler plant along with impatiens and coleous

I use many types of flowers, perennials and even Arborvitaes in my my pots. However, using Hostas are an inexpensive and low maintenance way to bring color and beauty to any shady area of your yard, deck, or even on your porch. Hostas are so easy to grow and with so many colors of greens, blues, and variegated you will have a hard time choosing which ones.

hosta container gardening

Potted up around end of May and using hosta as the accent plant

Another bonus? you can overwinter them in the pots and start all over next spring where you will be dividing them again. You can huddle them together under a tree and blanket with leaves or mulch, dig a hole/trench and put the pots in and fill with leaves or mulch, or you can overwinter in your garage where they can freeze and have protection. Just remember to keep them watered about once a week so they do not dry completely out.

Stick it in rain water about 2-3" in a cup, jar, or vase

Stick it in rain water about 2-3″ in a cup, jar, or vase

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2015-16 copyright C Renee Fuller @ The Garden Frog BoutiqueUsing hostas in container gardening

13 thoughts on “Using hostas in container gardening

  1. I will try a few in pots this year. The moles or voles get most of them anyway when I plant them in the ground, pesky varmints.
    Love the creative way you have displayed your hostas.
    betsy

  2. I need to visit this page more often….my lawn is part of a subdivision and consists of all of my neighbors rocks. Even hostas tend to die in my yard…these are beautiful. I’m adding it to a new emagazine for my readers…thanks for the tips.

    • where I live rabbits are not a problem. my suggestion is to get some sort of spray and spray them. In my 70 year old gardening book it recommends dried blood or lime sprinkled on and around the plants and reapplied if rains
      hope this helps. good luck Oh or a chicken wire fence but that looks messy LOL

Leave a Reply

