My Vintage Inspired and Up-cycled Spool Foot Stool

ottoman, spool ottoman, vintage ottoman project

vintage inspired ottoman

I learned something new preparing to write this- I learned that a foot stool is any type of furniture where one can put their feet up on. However, either a hassock or ottoman is a specific name for a specific purpose. A hassock is a fabric covered foot stool which is more accurately describing my upcycled spool foot stool. Ottoman describes a foot stool that is both fabric covered and provides storage. I still like the word Ottoman and so that is what I will call it because hassock is not a word that I have heard used to describe a foot stool.

vintage fabric, hassock

The piece of fabric that was large enough for the circle

 

I have been putting this project off since our return trip back from New Mexico in July where I had picked up the empty wire spool at a warehouse of my husband’s friend. When I saw the spool sitting there on the floor I immediately asked “what are you doing with this empty spool?!” My husband shrugged his shoulders and mumbled something from across the way and then they both looked at me and laughed. “What?” as I stared at them waiting for some smart @$$ comment and I got it “You can have all the garbage you want out of her!” and my hubby pipes in “Stop that no she can’t!”

vintage inspired foot stool

This is the spool which I reinforced with left over scraps of wood and screwed in place

I am so glad I own a Ford Expedition that held all the goodies I found on our trip-the spool, 500 lbs of beautiful desert flagstone, some cactus, and other assorted things along the way. When I saw the spool, I did not know what I was going to do with it, I just knew I would do something with it.

Sometimes you can find spools but if you cannot do not despair. A foot stool can be round or square. Upholstered. Wood. Metal. It is all in your creative design to build one using old boxes, buckets, tables, and the like. I just happened to get lucky with this spool which is the perfect size for my barrel chairs.

The tacks from the antique chair

The tacks from the antique chair

ottoman

One piece of vintage trim from my good friend

And the vintage fabric, tacks, and trim?

I have to admit that I have had those in my craft room for about 6 years (I think). The vintage supplies came from a very good friend of mine who had her beloved mother’s chair reupholstered. I love this vintage pattern and have 2 more small squares to make something else. I love vintage fabrics and trims. I have been teaching myself how to sew so I can create one of a kind pieces for my self, friends, and one day to sell.

sewing

I sewed on the trim to the black fabric which was a table cloth I had found on clearance a while back

I drew circles on the black fabric for the bottom and top

I drew circles on the black fabric for the bottom and top

For the bottom I added 3 inches and then I folded the fabric in half again and again to make a pie slice and I cut the circle

For the bottom I added 3 inches and then I folded the fabric in half again and again to make a pie slice and I cut the circle. For the top circle to cover I realized I had to add about 3 more inches to reach over the padding on the top

vintage inspired fabric

This is what the wedge looks like to cut out a circle. I had to carefully cut the vintage fabric and even do some repair on a couple holes I found

I made mistakes making this piece. I am up front and honest about the attempted fails at getting this perfect. I will post the pictures and I will tell you that it worked in my head but not in reality. I made it work and if I were to show it to a professional who upholsters they would probably faint. It looks good and it looks like it is vintage and that is what I was going for.

vintage inspired stool

I decided that making a slip for the stool would be easiest so I sewed the strip of black fabric together

I wrapped the fabric tightly around and used a pin to mark where they meet so I could sew them together to make the slip cover

I wrapped the fabric tightly around and used a pin to mark where they meet so I could sew them together to make the slip cover

vintage inspired foot stool

See the pin? that is where I sewed them ends together

I sewed the ends together. I also made sure to have a hem around all edges . You could also use fabric glue or an iron and some stitch witch

I sewed the ends together. I also made sure to have a hem around all edges . You could also use fabric glue or an iron and some stitch witch

I had everything I used already and did not purchase anything. I have a room devoted to crafts and sewing (which makes me very blessed and happy) so when I find things on clearance, or at garage sales, or even given to me by friends I can put the away and save them for the special project. If I ever do this again, I will use foam for padding and I have found that using the cheap foam mattress pads work really well. I used vintage fabric so stretching was not an option so keep this in mind because it is slightly fragile. Another adjustment I had to make was cutting the seam because I did not make the fabric sleeve tight enough so when I got to the end with the tacks, there was excess fabric. When you are creating, you have to be flexible because it does not always go as planned (at least not in my world!)

vintage inspired stool

I wrapped the spool with batting that I already had in my fabric stash. Next time I will use heavier foam or padding

vintage inspired spool stool

I used 3/8 staples to attach batting to wood slats I put in I also had stapled both the circles to fit over the edges so the slip cover or center piece of fabric could be tacked to the edges of the spool

I am no professional and my pictures are here to give you guidance and room to improve the technique. You can find Youtube videos on upholstering but I am a “a go for it if I fail that is okay kind of creator”. I also know now that working with a flat surface would have been easier too. But the stool looks great and after 2 days of use, it is holding up quite nicely!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

I had to make sure the fabric would covered the fabric slip cover I then tucked the vintage fabric inside of the slip cover

I had to make sure the fabric would covered the fabric slip cover I then tucked the vintage fabric inside of the slip cover

vintage inspired foot stool

This is what it looks before hammering in the tacks

vintage inspired foot stool, ottoman

I tacked the bottom of the slip cover first (I had stapled the black circles to the wood slats before I pulled the slip cover over

vintage inspired foot stool

to have equal distance I grabbed this and started at the opposite side of the seam

using needle nose pliers to hold a tack

This is how you can use needle nose pliers to hold a tack or small nail to avoid hammering your fingers

vintage inspired foot stool

I tacked along the edges feeling for the edge of the spool. I put these tacks about 2 of my fingers apart

ottoman, spool ottoman, hassock, vintage ottoman project

vintage inspired ottoman

2015 copyright material C Renee Fuller

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-the-difference-between-an-ottoman-footstool-and-hassock.htm

4 thoughts on “My Vintage Inspired and Up-cycled Spool Foot Stool

  1. Pretty cool, you did a great job on your foot stool! (I like the word foot stool) why the fancy words when it’s a foot stool. A stool to put your feet on (-;
    The hubby and I was just talking yesterday saying we needed foot stools for our Texas room. The room we spend the most time in. Could of used one yesterday.

Leave a Reply

