Creamy Potato, Spinach, and Rice Soup

Creamy potato, spinach, rice soupI have adapted this recipe over the years. I am not sure of its original source because my aunts (and my mother) passed it to each other at least 20 years ago. I think it may have come from a magazine recipe or ad for Cremora because that was the most important ingredient. The soup was tasty and it was a hit for cold winter days but I always felt that it could be better (and my husband said it would be if you added ham, sausage, beef but that is always what a man would say). I think my version of this soup is both creamier and thicker which makes it a hit every time I make it.

Warning: This is not a pretty soup but it is delicious! 

rosemary, creamy potato spinach rice soup

This time I thought about adding a sprig of Rosemary-added a woodier piece not the new growth because the new growth does not hold up in the soup (so you can retrieve the sprig after soup is done)

The first time my husband had tried this he said it tasted okay  but he was not a fan of it (without adding a bunch of pepper and salt and wanting me to add meat, ugh). I had started out making it the way I was told with stick margarine and chicken broth in the can. Then I realized about 15 years ago that margarine is basically liquid plastic and not good for us so I switched to butter and that improved the taste. I also realized that by adding more potatoes and rice (using long grained rice not Minute rice) made the soup thicker and more filling.

Note: I find there is a difference when using generic or store brand in certain foods and products. Cremora was the original ingredient but it is no longer available in my area so I use Coffeemate powder creamer. This was not without trying other store brands. This soup may have some qualities of what my aunts and mother called spinach soup but since I added to the soup it can no longer be simply called ‘spinach soup’.

I am going to give you my recipe of this soup with 3 different versions. The base soup is what I recommend to start and make once to see what you think and then adapt with the addition of garlic. The garlic (if you love garlic which my family does) seems to give a boost of flavor to the sautéed onions. This last time I even added a 3″ sprig of Rosemary which amped up the flavor. My 17 year old son gobbled up a couple bowls and then finished off the leftover soup today (which probably was 3 or 4 servings). I did not even get another bowl of the leftover soup today so as I write this thinking I need to make another pot.

The ingredient list:

  • Large stock pot works best but if you have a 5 quart pan it will work but close to overflowing
  • 1 stick of butter (you could use salted or unsalted depending upon your sodium requirements)
  • 1 medium onion
  • optional 2-3 cloves of garlic (I use 3 because I like garlic)
  • 10 cups of water
  • 4 Kerr’s Chicken Bouillon large cubes (Target or Kroger usually have the best price for them)
  • OR you can use 5 small cans of Chicken broth or 1 large can + 1 small can of Chicken broth (original recipe called for canned but I like using bouillon cubes)
  • 2 cups of Coffeemate powdered creamer
  • 5 medium russet potatoes peeled (you can use any kind of potatoes)
  • 1 1/4 cup of long grain rice
  • 1 bag of frozen spinach (can be any kind)
  • 1 tsp salt (this is not a must)
  • optional 1 older sprig of Rosemary

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

First melt 1 stick of real butter and when it is melted about 1/2 way or more add in the onions (and garlic if you choose)

First melt 1 stick of real butter and when it is melted about 1/2 way or more add in the onions (and garlic if you choose)

This is a bit more than a medium onion but you sautee the onion in the butter until they become clear

This is a bit more than a medium onion but you sautee the onion in the butter until they become clear

garlic, spinach, potato, rice creamy soup

I added the garlic which is not a must have. My family loves garlic and it does add a bit more flavor. I have no special garlic tools so I just dice it up in very small pieces and throw it in with the onions to cook

Onions are clear and the butter is just starting to darken. Stir frequently and this is now ready for water

Onions are clear and the butter is just starting to darken. Stir frequently and this is now ready for water

Kerr's chicken bouillon, spinach, rice, potato creamy soup, Coffeemate

I added chicken bouillon to 8 cups of hot water and then added to pot and stirred. I had to go back and then add 2 more cups (I found that 2 more cups works out better even though the Kerr’s directions state different)

Coffeemate creamy spinach potato rice soup with Kerr's chicken bouillon

After stirring for about 5 minutes and the water getting hotter, add the 2 cups of Coffeemate powdered creamer and whisk it in. (I find whisking works better than stirring)

I peeled the 5 medium russets. You do not have to peel but this time of year potato skins are a bit hard

I peeled the 5 medium russets. You do not have to peel but this time of year potato skins are a bit hard

Cubed them. It is not exact science and some are bite size while others might be a bit larger.

Cubed them. It is not exact science and some are bite size while others might be a bit larger.

Then add the 1 1/4 cups of long grain rice

Then add the 1 1/4 cups of long grain rice

spinach, rice, potato creamy soup

I like to use cut leaf spinach but any frozen package of spinach will work

Keep on a fairly high temp until it comes to a full bowl and then turn down to simmer for about 30-45 minutes until potatoes are cooked by checking with a fork to see if they are tender.

Keep on a fairly high temp until it comes to a full bowl and then turn down to simmer for about 30-45 minutes until potatoes are cooked by checking with a fork to see if they are tender. I cover during simmering plus I occasionally stir it.

rosemary, creamy potato spinach rice soup

This time I thought about adding a sprig of Rosemary-added a woodier piece not the new growth because the new growth does not hold up in the soup (so you can retrieve the sprig after soup is done)

Creamy spinach, rice, portato soup with Coffeemate and Kerr's chicken bouillon

Once the soup is stirred it looks creamy like this. I put the sprig on top of soup to simmer but never stirring it in. I took it out after 30 minutes. I love the smell of cooking with Rosemary and garlic

@2014 all opinions and thoughts are that of author

The recipe has been adapted and the original recipe unknown

Leave a Reply

