Console Table Makeover in Weathered Fence from Prairie Colors

Prairie Colors chalk paint, weather fence, furniture paint makeoverI am now in love with a new chalk paint by Prairie Colors. I know I cannot compare it to the other brands but I have to tell you that this is so much nicer than the homemade. I could not believe how beautifully this covers the piece and the color looks so good in either the sunlight or under the light of my hallway.

Prairie Colors chalk paint, weathered fence

My first experience with Prairie Colors. I have the privilege of trying it out!

My first color to use in this line is Weathered Fence and I chose it because I love old barn wood. I have to say I am in love with this color (and I will probably say that about all the colors). I have been using homemade chalk paint for a few years and even though the results are okay I would sometimes have a batch that would be grainy or that would just not cover the way the piece of furniture in a ‘professional’ way. I know now that you cannot compare chalk paints. Homemade is homemade. I can tell you that I will probably not be using homemade chalk paint on furniture any more. I am sold on Prairie Colors and coverage it provides without any grit or streaking. weathered fence, Prairie Colors chalk paint, furniture makeover

I am so excited to announce that the outcome far surpassed what I had hoped.

The before pic

The before pic

console table

The piece had issues from getting wet and banged around

The piece looked good but lacked dimension so I did a little trick I have done in the past to fill in grooves in the legs. I mixed a teaspoon of chalkpaint with a dab of black acrylic craft paint to darken the paint a touch. I then took a small artist brush and painted the recesses of the legs. After the paint dried, it was subtle and just enough to give a bit of dimension but that was not enough for this piece. As my son stated “it is boring all one color”. So I decided to distress it by sanding the edges and showing the dark purple underneath. I started slow with sanding and realized after I had done one side that this really made the piece come alive. Lightly sanding painting off is a slow process and I recommend to take it easy and take a little off at a time and then stand back to check your work. Believe me I have over done it before and it is tedious to go back and start all over again.

Prairie Colors chalk paint, weathered fence

My first experience with Prairie Colors. I have the privilege of trying it out! Make sure to invest in a good brush and do light coats. Let dry in between and when doing spindles or detailed work do not load the brush with paint! Just dab and brush on. Runs happen too many times from loading the brush with too much paint

weather fence, Prairie Colors chalk paint

I highlighted the grooves

Just mixed about a teaspoon off chalk paint and some black acrylic paint

Just mixed about a teaspoon off chalk paint and some black acrylic paint

After searching through 2500 pictures in my photo gallery on my new laptop I finally found the before pictures of my console table. I bet your asking why I did not retake before photos…it is because I knew I had before photos. Plus I have to add that I had painted this console table with homemade chalk paint made from the 50cent mis-tint sample from my local home store. (I was never happy with the dark color but never found another color to repaint it again until now.) Anyhow, the before pictures show how ho hum the piece was (and console table is pressed wood and photo finished). I am going to do a separate post about how I updated the wooden knob with a button too!

1st coat covered 85% and let dry for about an hour or so. I made sure to go over legs a 2nd time with the paintbrush to avoid drips

1st coat covered 85% and let dry for about an hour or so. I made sure to go over legs a 2nd time with the paintbrush to avoid drips

Some people love to paint any wood furniture but others will cringe and even blast you for painting a piece of solid Oak. Me, well, I will not paint most antique furniture. However, I will paint furniture that is outdated in a particular style or that will be so labor intensive to redo (sanding and stripping). Sometimes it is just easier and cheaper to succumb to painting a piece which can turn out just as beautiful.

Painting a piece of furniture can be intimidating and I remember the first time I ever did many years ago. It was a hot mess and I think I painted it 3 times! Just remember if it does not turn out you can start all over again!

Prairie colors chalk paint, sanding and distressing furniture

Sanding is a matter of preference. I had a dark color underneath so I tried a small section to see how it looked. Distressing can add some dimension

I am always on the lookout for garage sale finds or clearance aisle pieces to redo. I am working on new project that I cannot wait to show you (I will tell you that I paid $10 for it and it is old, smelly, and ugly). I will be using Prairie Colors paint and maybe some fabric. I do not have a set plan (I garden this way as well) because whatever hits me at the moment is how I work. So keep watching!Priaire Colors chalk paint, distressing and painting furniture

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

Check out the link http://www.prairiecolors.com

@copyright 2014/2015 by C Renee Fuller @ the Garden Frog Boutique

7 thoughts on “Console Table Makeover in Weathered Fence from Prairie Colors

  1. Pingback: A Console Table in "Weathered Fence" by Prairie Colors

  2. Renee, this Console Table is beautiful. I’ve never made chalkpaint or painted a lot of furniture, to be honest but you make it look easy!!! Thank you soooo much for linking up to the Something to Talk About Link Party and mark your calendar for next Monday 6 am est too. Have a great day, Lisa at Concord Cottage

Leave a Reply

