DIY Wooden Friendship Tag

Gift several years ago and my inspiration for the Friendship tags

Gift several years ago and my inspiration for the Friendship tags

Years ago I received a wooden ‘friendship’ tag from one of my best friends and have treasured it ever since. Even though the friendship has waned the sentiment behind the gift has not. Since it is Christmas time, I wanted to send some very special long distance friends a token of my gratitude for their part in my life. Rummaging through my craft room I ran across the wooden tag and the light came on; and I realized that I could create and send each one a special and unique friendship tag.friendship tag, wooden friendship tag, craft friendship tag

wooden tag, wooden friendship tag, craft tag

The above pictures were made with 2 different size wooden tags I had in my stash of supplies so they are smaller than the new wooden tags. You could use any size and I have added a smaller version that I used Modge Podge and scrapbook paper to create the background.  There are wooden gift tags at Michael’s in the Christmas section for half off making them cheap for a great kid project. wooden craft tag, wooden friendship tag, friendship tag

I know there are many on Pinterest made out of paper but the one I have is a wood tag and so I searched the aisles of my craft stores to find some more supplies. I ended up at AC Moore for the wooden pieces, couple packages of stickers, and a roll of ribbon. I found some clearance rhinestones and stickers as well as some other supplies for other projects at Hobby Lobby. Michaels had a couple packages of stickers and small supplies too. I already had some Dollar Store beads and other trinkets left over from other projects. I even found a plastic school box with a broken pearl necklace. With all my supplies out,  I set out to create.

I am only showing a portion because I am embarrassed to show you the rest

I am only showing a portion because I am embarrassed to show you the rest

I warn you the picture may cause some shock to those who are used to other bloggers taking pictures of neatly organized craft rooms and work tables. I am a hot mess when it comes to crafting. What you do not see in the picture is the dogs close by tripping me up as I try to get around the mess I call creativity.

As you can see from my work area, you need to have:

  • an array of stickers,
  • trinkets,
  • beads,
  • Modge Podge,
  • glitter,
  • hot glue gun,
  • small thin ribbon for edges of wooden tags,
  • and anything else crafty to create your idea.

wooden friendship tag, friendship tag, craft wooden gift tag

This year is a tight budget year and since there are a few people on my list that are just special I had to make something that could be sent through the mail to other parts of the country. If you are like many people scrambling to find that special trinket or gift for a friend or even acquaintance, then this idea may appeal to you (especially if you are like me and love to create and give a part of myself to special friends).Friendship tag, wooden gift tag, wooden craft tag

friendship tag, wooden gift tag, wooden craft tag, wooden friendship tag

Creativity is unique to each of us and so your attempts may not look anything like mine. That is good because who wants to be like the other? I spray painted them either metallic silver or gold (I prefer to use Rustoleum spray paint). I thought metallic paint made a great background for any sticker combo. You could paint them any color you like. You need a couple light coats of spray paint and let dry. If you want a short cut to the drying process this time of year (I am spraying in the garage with door open), put them on a stiff piece of cardboard so you can bring them in the house to dry faster in the heat. Otherwise in the cold garage it takes too long.

wooden tag

You will have to drill holes for the ribbon to go through at the top and spray paint to desired color. You could also leave as is and decorate.

An example of what I was spraying and working on.

An example of what I was spraying and working on.

friendship tag, modge podge

Applying Modge Podge to attach ribbon around edge of friendship tag

Smoothing out the ribbon on the Modge Podge. Later on I used the hot glue gun and had to be very careful to dab the hot glue and not burn myself

Smoothing out the ribbon on the Modge Podge. Later on I used the hot glue gun and had to be very careful to dab the hot glue and not burn myself

Supplies everywhere. I am messy. 2 dimensional stickers work great but you can cut out words and use them too and use Modge Podge to apply

Supplies everywhere. I am messy. 2 dimensional stickers work great but you can cut out words and use them too and use Modge Podge to apply

This was scrapbook paper I Modge Podge on and used hot glue to apply jewelry findings and pearls from a broken necklace

This was scrapbook paper I Modge Podge on and used hot glue to apply jewelry findings and pearls from a broken necklace

I used Modge Podge to attach the stickers and ribbon on a few of the friendship tags. I have an old hot glue gun which I decided was faster at attaching the ribbon but either way works. The hot glue gun works for attaching the beads and even some of the dimensional stickers. Hot glue works great to get the two dimensional look of the beads popping off the tag especially since you can dab hot glue and pile up more beads. My Dollar tree has some bead kits which I used. My guestimate is that you can make these tags for less than $2 a piece especially since there are always sales and coupon offers at the craft stores and the wooden tags at AC Moore with 40% were less than 60cents a piece. Over the years, I have collected beads, glitter, ribbon, rhinestones, broken jewelry, and other trinkets to use in crafts so when you divide the cost out you are spending less for something that may be priceless in the eye of the receiver.

This is one school box full of rhinestones, beads, and jewelry findings, etc. I laid small piles of stuff out and used hot glue to attach so I could make them dimensional

This is one school box full of rhinestones, beads, and jewelry findings, etc. I laid small piles of stuff out and used hot glue to attach so I could make them dimensional. Hot glue gives you time to lay the pieces in and create dimension which I think makes the friendship tag unique

wooden friendship tag, wooden tag, craft tag, friendship craft

I know I am a sentimental fool but I have saved all my kids ornaments and crafts they made over the years. Even when friends have given me ornaments or jewelry, I cherish it and hold a special place in my heart for the gift. Life is about giving ourselves and accepting the gifts of each other. I hope I have inspired you and if you have kids (especially tweens or teen girls) this may be a great project to do with them for family and friends.friendship tag, wooden gift tag, craft friendship tag

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2014/2015 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

friendship tag, wooden frienship tag, craft tag

Leave a Reply

