Easy way to make Sweet Tea

sweet tea

There are a lot of ways to make sweet tea and I have experimented to come up with one that my family enjoys and drinks within a few days. I have tried running the bags through the coffee maker but I did not like my tea mingling with my coffee- I am picky like that. A few years ago I watched my best friend make tea and even though her tea is good (true southern sweet tea) it was a bit too sweet for hubby and not quite strong enough for our tastes.

I grew up in the Midwest and was introduced to instant tea at a young age. I never enjoyed it. I had family members who would run it through their coffee makers but it was always so weak. So for years, I never really drank tea until I moved to the South where sweet tea is a staple at most dinner tables.

I am a frugal kind of gal and so Luzianne tea bags work the best for me. They are about $2.50 for 24 family size bags and I use 4 bags per gallon of sweet tea. I use 1 1/4 cups of sugar unless I am in the mood for a bit sweeter and I then I add 1 1/2 cups. Breaking it down it costs about 65cents per gallon to make. You will need a small saucepan to boil the water and tea bags and I use an empty clean milk jug that I replace about every 10 -14 days. My boys love sweet tea and this is much better for them than the fast food sweet tea that is loaded with sugar.sugar for teaI fill the saucepan up with water and put in the 4 tea bags (be sure to take off tags) and turn the burner on high. Bring to a boil for a couple minutes and then turn off burner. If you have electric, then I would put the saucepan off the side to steep the tea bags for about 20-30 minutes. During this time I make sure I have a clean jug or container and a funnel for the sugar and add the 1 1/4 cups of sugar. Then after 20 minutes I usually pour the tea (this is also where a funnel comes in handy) in the jug carefully leaving the tea bags in the pan. Then I fill up the saucepan with tea bags still in it with water (repeatedly until the water pours out clean) and then I plop the tea bags in the funnel and rinse them until the jug is filled. Put on the lid and shake really well dissolving the sugar. Compost the tea bags and enjoy!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

I clean out and use empty milk jugs which is perfect for storing tea and other drinks. Funnel is great for pouring sugar and tea in jug

I clean out and use empty milk jugs which is perfect for storing tea and other drinks. Funnel is great for pouring sugar and tea in jug

small saucepan filled with water and burner on high. bring to a boil for about a couple minutes and then turn off burner and set it aside to steep for 20-30 minutes

small saucepan filled with water

4 family size tea bags and be sure to remove the tags before placing in water and boiling

4 family size tea bags and be sure to remove the tags before placing in water and boiling

After you pour the tea in jug after taking off stove, then fill with pan with water and fill jug -repeating this step until water runs clean (about 5 times)

After you pour the tea in jug after taking off stove, then fill with pan with water and fill jug -repeating this step until water runs clean (about 5 times)

The next step is to put the tea bags in funnel and slowly run water through them into jug (sometimes you still get tea)

The next step is to put the tea bags in funnel and slowly run water through them into jug (sometimes you still get tea)

After you fill jug, then you can compost the tea bags. Put lid on tight and shake really well to dissolve sugar. You may have to shake again in a few minutes. You can pour over ice and serve now and /or put in refrigerator to chill and enjoy for the week.

After you fill jug, then you can compost the tea bags. Put lid on tight and shake really well to dissolve sugar. You may have to shake again in a few minutes. You can pour over ice and serve now and /or put in refrigerator to chill and enjoy for the week.

 

Leave a Reply

