Foolproof way to boil an egg

boil egg, boiled eggs, trick to boiling eggs

I just love perfectly boiled eggs with yellow yolks

I have been boiling eggs for over 35 years and have tried many different ways to make sure I have a yellow yolk. I do not know about you but I cannot eat a green yolk and not even if it is a tinge of green. I am picky like that.

boiling eggs

Check for cracks and carefully put in pan. I put the burner on high and set timer for about 7 minutes so I can remember that I am boiling eggs

There are many ways to boil and egg and I have tried them but I like the old fashioned way of using the stovetop. Since I have an electric cooktop, my directions are geared toward electric but this will work for those who have gas too. Gas cooks faster so you will have to be on your toes timing it much more carefully than us electric users.

Boiling an egg is easy even if you have always turned out green yolk eggs. Follow my easy steps and in about an 30 minutes you will have ‘perfect’ boiled eggs for salads, eating, and the favorite deviled egg. For energy uses boil at least half a dozen eggs covered in water in a saucepan that accommodates the eggs and leaves just a bit of ‘wiggle’ room for the eggs to move around once they start to boil. You will also need a timer, a lid for the pan, and 2 cups of ice (or more for larger pans and more eggs).

Once the water is boiling set timer for 3 minutes. Then put lid on, turn off burner, and set off the burner and set timer for 20 minutes. If you do not catch the eggs do not boil past 5 minutes. Boiling for 5 minutes gives them a bit more firmness and still stays yellow.

Once the water is boiling set timer for 3 minutes. Then put lid on, turn off burner, and set off the burner and set timer for 20 minutes. If you do not catch the eggs do not boil past 5 minutes. Boiling for 5 minutes gives them a bit more firmness and still stays yellow.

boiling eggs

After 20 minutes I take over the sink and drain the hot water. You have to now cool the eggs so they stop cooking

boil eggs

I put in 2 cups of ice cubes and swirl the pan with the ice and eggs to cool the eggs down.

boil egg, boiled eggs

After just a couple minutes the ice is melted and the eggs are cooled enough to peel.

I take the egg and tap it all the way around the egg on the sink to crack it. Crack it all the way around the egg -that is the best way to start to peel it. Then run cold water on the egg and carefully peel back the egg shell. With old eggs like this the shell comes off with no problem.

I take the egg and tap it all the way around the egg on the sink to crack it. Crack it all the way around the egg -that is the best way to start to peel it. Then run cold water on the egg and carefully peel back the egg shell. With old eggs like this the shell comes off with no problem.

The benefit of following my advice is that 90% of the time the eggs will peel easily and without tearing up the whites. The only eggs that are hard to peel are fresh farm eggs and so I am letting you in on great hint or tip- buy old eggs. Yep even if they are at the expiration date or a few days past, boil them, and you will see that old eggs are a breeze to peel. I actually buy eggs just for this purpose a couple weeks ahead of time if I am going to make deviled eggs. {I have even had eggs for a month and NO I have never had salmonella poisoning or any such problems using old eggs.} I happily buy the markdown too close to the date eggs at the store. There is nothing wrong with them and as long as I hide the markdown sticker from my teenage son who is a lot like me- picky and he fears the expiration date he will happily gobble up a few eggs in one sitting.

Boiled eggs are good for at least 3 days in the refrigerator and they are also a great treat for the dogs in my house so it is nothing to go through a dozen boiled eggs in 2 days.

boiled eggs, boil egg

Mix of old and new eggs. As you can see the eggs have few flaws and are ready to make deviled eggs. Do not let the eggs sit in the water they will be harder to peel. This process takes about 30 minutes.

For the most part though I usually only have 1 egg that just will not peel and that usually is one I put in the pan that had a crack and spewed out that egg white into that fluffy gross stuff onto the water. You know what I am talking about…that happens and that is why check the eggs to make sure there are no cracks and carefully put them in the pan and then fill to the top of the eggs with cold water. {The nasty egg usually goes to the dogs who do not care what it looks like.}

I have to add here that my husband about a month or two ago tried the vinegar ‘hack’ he saw on Facebook and boy that was the epic fail! He read that vinegar makes the eggs easy to peel. Boy that was farthest from the truth! They were almost impossible to peel and that batch went to the dogs. He tried a few hacks that week and now he knows why I do not try everything I read on the internet! LOL

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

I have another tip for you: to check if the eggs are still good, put then in a bowl or pan of water and if the egg floats it is rotten or no good.

One thought on “Foolproof way to boil an egg

  1. Pingback: How to Boil a Perfect Egg

Leave a Reply

