My one bowl chocolate chip cookies

chocolate chip cookies, one bowl chocolate chip cookies, baking cookies, cookies

This time I used large chocolate chips.

I have been making chocolate chip cookies for over 35 years and it all started with the recipe on the side of the Nestle chip bag. Years later I found another recipe to try after I had purchased the store brand  chocolate chip. The recipe required only one bowl to make and at that moment I was hooked. I adapted my recipe over the years and now for the past 10 years I have made it this way. One bowl makes 4 dozen cookies (less if you eat the dough like my family does).

From my calculations this chocolate chip cookie is around 65 calories and worth every single calorie! My family loves these cookies and just recently I sent them vacuumed sealed to the other side of the country with my husband for his good friend who loved them too. It is a basic chocolate chip cookie and one that is surely going to be a hit. Just make sure to put in a sealed container to keep them fresh.

The ingredients to gather:

  • 1 bag of semi sweet chocolate chips ( I like to use mini because it makes it seem like there is more chocolate for the kids but any size works)
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup or 2 sticks butter (salted)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (the real stuff only) I believe using real vanilla makes the difference
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • one large mixing bowl (I prefer glass but microwave safe is best) large spoon to mix, and hand mixer (this is only for creaming the butter, sugars, and egg)
  • a regular tablespoon for dipping out dough
  • oven on 350 degrees and bake for about 12 minutes
    Ingredients

    Ingredients

    Oven @ 350 degrees

    Oven @ 350 degrees

First I unwrap the 2 sticks of butter and put them in the glass mixing bowl and stick in microwave on defrost or 50% power for a minute. Then I turn on ovens @ 350degrees and get out the egg and gather the rest of the ingredients. The butter should be half softened and melted and stir it to try and disperse the heat to melt it even more. You do not want the butter too hot just softened and partly melted.

Notice the butter is half melted and softened

Notice the butter is half melted and softened

Then add the sugars to the bowl and mix (I use a hand mixer here on low). Then I add the egg and mix. Then the vanilla and continue to mix for a few seconds and then add the baking soda. Put aside the electric mixer now and get the large spoon out. Add 1 cup of flour at a time and mix. If you use the electric mixer, I find that it makes the cookies flat. Maybe it is just me but they do not seem to cook or taste right either. My family likes the cookies fluffy.

After you have it all mixed together, then take your tablespoon and scoop on to your cookie sheets. Adjusting the time for baking the cookies. I know my oven takes 12 minutes to get the lightly brown edges. I would check after 10 minutes to see how you like the cooked. If you bake them too long, then after they cool put them in a sealed container with a couple pieces of white bread to soften them. This is the best trick in the book for softening hard cookies or brownies if they harden.

Add the ingredients one at a time

Add the ingredients one at a time

Add the baking soda and mix and put aside the electric mixer (if you used one)

Add the baking soda and mix and put aside the electric mixer (if you used one)

Add 1 cup of flour at a time

Add 1 cup of flour at a time

All mixed and ready for chocolate chips

All mixed and ready for chocolate chips

Dip in your tablespoon for measuring out scoops

Dip in your tablespoon for measuring out scoops

You can adjust how much dough for the size of cookies but I found these to be the best size for my guys

You can adjust how much dough for the size of cookies but I found these to be the best size for my guys

Put in oven and bake

Put in oven and bake

Lightly brown edges

Lightly brown edges

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

Note: remember the tip about the white bread to soften up the cookies if they should get hard. Enjoy!

copyrighted @2014/2015 material C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

5 thoughts on “My one bowl chocolate chip cookies

  1. Omg these Chocolate Chip Cookies look so delish!!! You’re making me hungry!!! We LOVE chocolate chip cookies so I’ll definitely try them this way!! Thank you soooo much for linking up to the Something to Talk About Link Party and mark your calendar for next Monday 6 am est too. Have a great day, Lisa at Concord Cottage

  2. Oh my goodness, I want to make these right now! And I can because I don’t have to let things come to room temp, which I always forget to do when I want to bake. Love that and the tip on how to soften cookies and brownies. Who knew?? Thanks for sharing at our “Something to Talk About” link party. Hope to see you again next week 🙂 Bwg ~~~

Leave a Reply

