Create an angel tree topper from a plastic bottle

Okay I am at it again.

angel tree topper, tree topper, upcycle craft, children craft, Christmas craft

Merry Christmas

I like creating craft ideas to use recyclables (and garbage) for the kids. This project is a fun way to create something special with your kids that can last a lifetime. I know for me that I treasure all the gifts that were made by my children; and each year they adorn the tree reminding me how being a mom has been an important job.

There are several ornaments on the tree that are at least 18 years old. Some of the ornaments are put away in the box because the years have not been kind. That is okay because each year I open the box and look inside and remember…

Tree adorned with memories

Tree adorned with memories

This tree topper was created twofold-because I needed a tree topper  and because I wanted to share a family friendly craft with you so you could make memories with your children (or grandchildren). Get out the hot glue gun, glitter, and reach into the recycle bin and get out a dish soap bottle (or any other similar shaped bottle) and get to making some memories! My tree topper is only a guideline and if you do not need a tree topper then make an angel to sit on the mantle. Whatever you choose to make, you and the kids will remember it each Christmas season when you pull it out of the box and display it with love.

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

It all started when I emptied the bottle the other day and noticed the curvy shape

It all started when I emptied the bottle the other day and noticed the curvy shape

To make the tree topper you will need a sharp utility knife

To make the tree topper you will need a sharp utility knife

You do not need to apply a lot of pressure

You do not need to apply a lot of pressure. Now you are ready to spray paint it (and I did not even take off the labels!)

You will need some Modpodge (this small bottle was at Dollar store) or glue and sharp scissors

You will need some Modpodge (this small bottle was at Dollar store) or glue and sharp scissors

I happened to have ping pong in the junk drawer and it was perfect size for head

I happened to have ping pong in the junk drawer and it was perfect size for head

Then I found this plastic ring which is perfect for the halo

Then I found this plastic ring which is perfect for the halo

had this snowflake in the ornament box and thought of wings for the angel

had this snowflake in the ornament box and thought of wings for the angel

To prepare the ping pong to spray paint with Rustoleums metallic paint in silver I use the utility knife to slit a hole and pushed the wire in

To prepare the ping pong to spray paint with Rustoleums metallic paint in silver I use the utility knife to slit a hole and pushed the wire in

I lightly sprayed the ping pong ball (so much easier when it is on a wire). using metallic paint takes patience because it runs so spray light coats

I lightly sprayed the ping pong ball (so much easier when it is on a wire). using metallic paint takes patience because it runs so spray light coats. You will also need to see where the slit will need to be made so the halo can be put on

I then spray painted the bottle. It took a couple coats and I sprayed it lightly and let dry for a couple hours

I then spray painted the bottle. It took a couple coats and I sprayed it lightly and let dry for a couple hours

I decided to put on wings before glitter so out came the hot glue gun

I decided to put on wings before glitter so out came the hot glue gun

I cute the snowflake in half and I think it works perfect for wings

I cute the snowflake in half and I think it works perfect for wings

I decided to put on wings before glitter so out came the hot glue gun. This is what I forgot to do so next step is to cut slits so that wire for arms can be slid into the bottle. It is matter of preference where you think the arms can go

I decided to put on wings before glitter so out came the hot glue gun. This is what I forgot to do so next step is to cut slits so that wire for arms can be slid into the bottle. It is matter of preference where you think the arms can go

Carefully spread modpodge or glue so you can sprinkle the glitter. I covered one side completely and then put my finger in the top and held it to paint glue and glitter the other side

Carefully spread modpodge or glue so you can sprinkle the glitter. I covered one side completely and then put my finger in the top and held it to paint glue and glitter the other side,

Make sure to have newspaper where you work!

Make sure to have newspaper where you work!

Okay I forgot to wrap the wire first before painting with modpodge and applying glitter.

Okay I forgot to wrap the wire first before painting with modpodge and applying glitter.

I finished covering in glue and glitter and poked in the head (ping pong)

I finished covering in glue and glitter and poked in the head (ping pong)

I tried to put the slit as far back as I could and then I carefully hot glued it to stay put

I tried to put the slit as far back as I could and then I carefully hot glued it to stay put

I happened to find these in my craft room from long ago and found silver roses!

I happened to find these in my craft room from long ago and found silver roses!

I was happy to find silver roses

I was happy to find silver roses

Used the hot glue and carefully applied the roses around the neck (after I glued on head with a bit of hot glue)

Used the hot glue and carefully applied the roses around the neck (after I glued on head with a bit of hot glue)

You could use ribbon too

You could use ribbon too

I needed arms (you really don't have to) so I had a straw and cut 2 pieces about 3" and cut wire to run through the straws so I could spray paint them too

I needed arms (you really don’t have to) so I had a straw and cut 2 pieces about 3″ and cut wire to run through the straws so I could spray paint them too

I carefully bent the wire with the straws to mimic arms and went out and spray painted

I carefully bent the wire with the straws to mimic arms and went out and spray painted

20141115_144950

I slid the wire in the slits and tried to adjust the arms. My teenage son comes down and says "where's the harp?" I laughed and said "I don't have one"

I slid the wire in the slits and tried to adjust the arms. My teenage son comes down and says “where’s the harp?” I laughed and said “I don’t have one”

The shape of the Dawn bottle is just the perfect shape for an angel.

The shape of the Dawn bottle is just the perfect shape for an angel. There is so many variations to do. You could even use fabric and ribbon. I have lots of glitter from days gone by. Creating is fun and I hope you have fun creating.

 

 

 

One thought on “Create an angel tree topper from a plastic bottle

  1. Pingback: 16 Genius Trash To Treasure Christmas Crafts You Need To See - Top Dreamer

Leave a Reply

