From ugly magazine table to fabulous Doggy Bar

Sierra photo bombed the picture but her look says it all

Sierra photo bombed the picture but her look says it all “what in the world did you do to my food bowls?”

How many of you have pets and food/water bowls that just look, well, messy or boring? I hated the stainless steel food bowls for the dogs. They were hard to keep clean and I just hated seeing them sit there on the floor taking up space with no decorative feature. With a house full of guys, dogs, and cats I just want -no need- a little beauty and function.

Yawn! how boring this looks

Yawn! how boring this looks

It has taken me a few weeks to get to this project but I think it was well worth the wait! I found this beat up, ugly magazine table at a yard sale where I talked the woman down to $8 from $10 (I felt too guilty to talk her down more since it was for a doggy rescue). I have to be honest here- I do not pay much for any piece I find at garage sales. It takes a lot for me to pay more than $10 for anything. I am frugal, okay, cheap. I just cannot fork out money for something someone is already going to toss out or donate.

I tried to photograph this but Dora insisted on being in the picture

I tried to photograph this but Dora insisted on being in the picture

Anyway, I had a vision when I saw this piece. So after a few weeks and tossing around other ideas, I cleared yesterday to work on the ‘doggy bar’. I already had the 50cent sample of mistint paint to make chalk paint and the stain from my platform bed. I knew I wanted the top darker than the rest (at least that was the plan until an accident changed that). I found a piece of a 1×12″ board that was almost the perfect size and I have a router so I routed the edges giving it a finished look. I am always flexible on a project because it seems that ‘things happen’ and creating is not supposed to be frustrating (so I am finally learning to be a bit more flexible in life).

It was a great day for garage sale!

It was a great day for garage sale!

This very beat up and neglected piece actually belonged to the mother of the previous owner and she had it for years. She said it had been sitting in the attic for years and decided to get rid of it. I said “Oh no this is sentimental”. She replied “no, I have no attachment to it”. I see magazine rack tables and lamps at garage sales a lot but this time, this piece, spoke to me and so I bought it.

If you find a similar piece it will be easy to duplicate and I have to tell you walking into the kitchen this morning I just felt so good about seeing the doggy bar. Call it goofy but I just love seeing it. The dogs were not real happy at first but after about an hour the urge to eat and drink took over. When my husband got home last night, he was in shock about how good it looked.

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

This is what life is all about.

My Dremel multi tool for cutting the front piece off. It was tight so I had to cut it

My Dremel multi tool for cutting the front piece off. It was tight so I had to cut it

I carefully cut along the side. You can use whatever saw that will cut through the wood. I knew I was not reusing this piece so I just cut it off

I carefully cut along the side. You can use whatever saw that will cut through the wood. I knew I was not reusing this piece so I just cut it off

I had to bang with a mallot a little and move it back and forth before it would come out

I had to bang with a mallot a little and move it back and forth before it would come out

This is what both sides looked like

This is what both sides looked like

Old painters trick to use caulking to fill in the holes. Not perfect but it worked and I already had the white caulking

Old painters trick to use caulking to fill in the holes. Not perfect but it worked and I already had the white caulking

Turned over and drew the circles for the bowls I was repurposing

Turned over and drew the circles for the bowls I was repurposing

Circles are ready

Circles are ready

I like paddle bits so I have a big enough hole to turn my jig saw to cut the hole. You can use any size drill bit or paddle bit to start the hole so you can cut out your circle

I like paddle bits so I have a big enough hole to turn my jig saw to cut the hole. You can use any size drill bit or paddle bit to start the hole so you can cut out your circle

The circle does not have to be perfect but good enough so bowl sits in it

The circle does not have to be perfect but good enough so bowl sits in it

I cut out both holes and then I routered the edges to give it a finished look. You do not have to router the edges but sanding them down a bit would be a good idea

I cut out both holes and then I routered the edges to give it a finished look. You do not have to router the edges but sanding them down a bit would be a good idea

Okay this is the tricky part. I have a Australian Shepherd and a Jack/Fox terrier so the bowl could not be too tall

Okay this is the tricky part. I have a Australian Shepherd and a Jack/Fox terrier so the bowl could not be too tall

After lining it up, leveling, and making sure the dogs could easily eat and drink, I pre-drilled the 2 holes and put in wood screws (any fine screw would work)

After lining it up, leveling, and making sure the dogs could easily eat and drink, I pre-drilled the 2 holes and put in wood screws (any fine screw would work)

Made my chalk paint out of the mistint color I had. Mixed 4 tablespoons with 1/4 cup hot water in a glass jar and stirred well. then add the jar of paint to it

Made my chalk paint out of the mistint color I had. Mixed 4 tablespoons with 1/4 cup hot water in a glass jar and stirred well. then add the jar of paint to it

I painted the piece with 2 coats

I painted the piece with 2 coats

Then I dropped some stain on the side so I had to do the whole piece in the walnut stain. that's okay because I really love the antique look

Then I dropped some stain on the side so I had to do the whole piece in the walnut stain. that’s okay because I really love the antique look

So I rubbed the stain all over and it really brought out a cool antique look. Then I decided it needed something so I handpainted

So I rubbed the stain all over and it really brought out a cool antique look. Then I decided it needed something so I handpainted

I even painted inside the drawer. It smelled before but now the paint sealed in the 'old' smell. the drawer could be used for extra stuff but for now it is stuck shut

I even painted inside the drawer. It smelled before but now the paint sealed in the ‘old’ smell. the drawer could be used for extra stuff but for now it is stuck shut

What do you think? Doggy treats on top and food on the bottom.

What do you think? Doggy treats on top and food on the bottom.

Walking in the kitchen seeing this makes me smile

Walking in the kitchen seeing this makes me smile

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2014 copyrighted by C Renee Fuller @ The Garden Frog Boutique

7 thoughts on “From ugly magazine table to fabulous Doggy Bar

  1. Pingback: Transform an old wooden magazine rack in to a pet food center » The Garden Frog Boutique

Leave a Reply

