Anything can be a planter!

Happy Fall Y'all

Happy Fall Y’all

Anything can be a planter and in my garden you will find proof of that. I love to find galvanized tubs and buckets and even enamel ware pots to use for my plants. I have used wicker and bushel baskets. If I find something interesting I will use it as a pot or a planter.

There are so many unique ways to make your garden your own. I find many ways to pot up my finds and this weekend I was lucky enough to find 2 new containers for my fall decorating. AND it only cost me 50 cents! The greatest thing is that they are not pots and they do not even belong in the garden…at least not until now!20140927_175200The wire basket was a quarter and it was already orange. I knew right away what I was going to do with it. My hubby was like “what are you going to do with that?” I said “it is for the fall display”. He just goes along with whatever because he knows after 18 years that it is best just to help and not question…

I bent the sides down to make it the height I needed it

I bent the sides down to make it the height I needed it

I had a scrap piece of burlap that I used to hold the soil in and repotted a mum

I had a scrap piece of burlap that I used to hold the soil in and repotted a mum

The next garage sale I found the neatest wire silverware or utensil holder. I could not resist it either for a quarter and even my husband said it looked cool. Little did he know that it was not for the house but for another idea that popped into my head when I saw it.Isn’t it cool looking? I went hunting in my craft room and got some more burlap and cut it to fit the trays. I was getting excited to see what it would look like.

Isn't this just cool?

Isn’t this just cool?

Cut pieces of scrap burlap

Cut pieces of scrap burlap

I had 3 plants plus I knew I could not crowd them so I put burlp in the outside blocks

I had 3 plants plus I knew I could not crowd them so I put burlp in the outside blocks

Took it outside and filled with dirt, carefully, so the burlap would not fall down

Took it outside and filled with dirt, carefully, so the burlap would not fall down

20140927_181310

20140927_18205220140927_182058

I had bought 3- 4″ cabbage plants to use in a planter so I already had the idea of what I wanted to do but sometimes in life we walk right into the perfect solution.

I had 2 strips of burlap and I just could not throw them away

I had 2 strips of burlap and I just could not throw them away

I did not have it long enough for a real bow so I just tied it loosely so I could slide the 2nd piece through the loop

I did not have it long enough for a real bow so I just tied it loosely so I could slide the 2nd piece through the loop

AFter you pull the 2nd strip through pull the first strip tight. I liked the way it looked

AFter you pull the 2nd strip through pull the first strip tight. I liked the way it looked

My hubby really liked the way it turned out. When my husband says he likes something, I know he really means it. Then as I am working outside this afternoon, a neighbor stopped by and chatted with me about how she really loves the way I make my yard looks so homey and cute. Thinking outside the box for your garden can be as simple as a wire trashcan. Your garden, your yard, and your home should reflect who you are and what you love. If you love color, use it. Whatever makes your heart sing is what you do.

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!20140928_174605

Leave a Reply

