Solarizing your Halloween decorations

Do you have a box full of these?

Do you have a box full of these?

I may not like fall but I do like Halloween. I have decorations from Halloween that are 12 or 13 years old now and I hope that they keep running and moving forever. I even have those plastic foam pumpkins with the electric lights in them that are probably older than that. They were always on the front porch in our other homes and put out Halloween night and lit up because the light inside is not rated for outdoors. I have always thought about and wanted to figure out how to make them work outdoors.

Then I have a plastic skull that I bought years ago that just sits there on the ground looking, well, like a plastic skull. Nothing exciting and on Halloween night can barely be seen. For some reason I never thought about or got around to doing something so simple and so easy to make them light up and be seen.

And this year I finally did it…20140925_190648I solarized my Halloween pumpkins and skull. I cannot believe I did not do this before! It looks so cool lit up at night.

I know the stem is a bit unusual but you cannot glue the solar light on if you ever want to turn it off or fix it in the future. So I experimented and came up with the twine as a holder for the solar light. Unfortunately,I glued the solar light in the skull so after Halloween I will have to carefully remove the solar light and come up something different. I think a hat to glue on and hold the solar light. Now I want to go find more skulls and hollow plastic decorations to put solar lights in!

Either way, I solved the problem and now I can have my pumpkins lit up every night during October for Halloween!2014-09-25 22.09.48Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

Directions are pretty easy. Have fun

He was a hard plastic one with the light inside

He was a hard plastic one with the light inside

I chose a larger LED solar light for better brightness (plus they were on clearance for $1 a piece). I outlined the light with pencil

I chose a larger LED solar light for better brightness (plus they were on clearance for $1 a piece). I outlined the light with pencil

I drilled on the inside of my outline all the way around. The plastic was hard so be careful

I drilled on the inside of my outline all the way around. The plastic was hard so be careful

I used my wire cutters to snip in between. There are probably better ways but this is what worked for me

I used my wire cutters to snip in between. There are probably better ways but this is what worked for me

I pulled the stem up and the last couple easily broke off

I pulled the stem up and the last couple easily broke off

Hard plastic is done

Hard plastic is done

The hole was a bit big but that is okay.

The hole was a bit big but that is okay.

20140925_174518

Repeat process for outling/drilling holes for foam or carveable pumpkin and use a drywall saw or other tool to cut the stem out. This is easy to do

Repeat process for outling/drilling holes for foam or carveable pumpkin and use a drywall saw or other tool to cut the stem out. This is easy to do

Put solar light on and use hot glue (or any other glue you want) and do not glue solar light but the twine around it for a holder

Put solar light on and use hot glue (or any other glue you want) and do not glue solar light but the twine around it for a holder

I cut the twine in one piece so I could make the base for the solar light to sit inside and glued it on

I cut the twine in one piece so I could make the base for the solar light to sit inside and glued it on

Hot glue was easy to use

Hot glue was easy to use

I glued on more twine and made sure that light sat inside

I glued on more twine and made sure that light sat inside

I glued some more layers on and went as high as the solar light. The height is not important so long as the sun can get to light and the light can be removed

I glued some more layers on and went as high as the solar light. The height is not important so long as the sun can get to light and the light can be removed

Solar light fits!

Solar light fits!

Now for my old hollow skull

Now for my old hollow skull

I used a hole saw for the top for the small $1 solar light from Walmart

I used a hole saw for the top for the small $1 solar light from Walmart

I drilled the eyes, nose, and some of the teeth out

I drilled the eyes, nose, and some of the teeth out

I had glued the light in place forgetting that I needed access to turn off solar light or fix it in the future.

I had glued the light in place forgetting that I needed access to turn off solar light or fix it in the future.

Now the plastic foam pumpkins have lights so I had to find a very small screwdriver and unscrew the bottoms to remove the light

Now the plastic foam pumpkins have lights so I had to find a very small screwdriver and unscrew the bottoms to remove the light

Just unhooked from plastic base and pulled the light out-easy!

Just unhooked from plastic base and pulled the light out-easy!

the light pulls right out

the light pulls right out

Screw the base back on and your pumpkin is ready for Halloween!

Screw the base back on and your pumpkin is ready for Halloween!

Happy Halloween everyone!

Happy Halloween everyone!

Leave a Reply

