$10 upcycled DIY fall wreath

I glued on the 2 birds just because I love birds

Trying to get in the mood for fall. I really am. Everyone else is decorating and getting excited over pumpkins and leaves and I am grumpy because my hostas are now fading away…yard, bed 638So the other day I made a new fall wreath, then I hung it and felt a bit of excited about more fall decorating. Then later that day someone slammed the door and the wreath fell down. Along with it went my desire to decorate any more.

Anyhow, I am all about thrift. My boys call it ‘cheap’. I get an idea and have to do it and do it cheap. I am obsessed with finding deals and I love creating beautiful things out of stuff I find at garage sales, craft stores, and event the clearance aisles at my local home store. I have been this way my whole life- I did it before it became a reality show. Life is good.

My wreath was made for around $10. Yes, $10. I bought the grapevine wreath at a garage sale over the summer for 50 cents and ripped off the tacky ribbon and flowers. I knew one day I would do something with it. The birdhouses were on sale for 60 cents each after a 40% coupon at A.C.Moore. I bought a yard of burlap fabric from my Hobby Lobby for about $2.50 and just cut strips off for my ribbon. The scarecrow came from Hobby Lobby, too, for less than $2.50 after the 40% sale. The driftwood was from my trip to Panacea FL a few years ago with my BF. Oh forgot the 2 little birds and 2 ‘bouquets’ of sunflowers were from the Dollar Tree for $1 a piece. Everything else I already had so the cost stayed around $10 where I knew I wanted it to be.

For this wreath, if you do it as I did, you will need wire, wire cutters, and a hot glue gun. It took me about an hour or so because I had to figure out how to get the birdhouses to sit just right. However, the day before I carefully brushed on 2 coats of polyurethane on the birds to try and seal them since they are so porous and I knew that they would disintegrate in the rain. I also sprayed clear varnish on the scarecrow to seal him too. I have done this in the past with other projects and found it lasts for the season.

I hope you enjoy making the wreath. Upcycling those old wreaths into something new and fresh gives me a sense of accomplishment. It challenges my inner creativity (plus it drives my hubby crazy).

This is only the first step for me to get into fall decorating. I have a loft in the garage just begging for me to go through.

Happy Fall Y’all!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

A wreath and a piece of driftwood

A wreath and a piece of driftwood

had to spray paint the 3 birdhouses

had to spray paint the 3 birdhouses

Spray painted with my favorite spray paint-

Spray painted with my favorite spray paint-

I wired the driftwood on the wreath. Drilling holes was very easy!

I wired the driftwood on the wreath. Drilling holes was very easy!

the base

the base

I drilled holes on each side of the birdhouses and fished the wire through so that I could wire each one to the wreath and/or driftwood.

I drilled holes on each side of the birdhouses and fished the wire through so that I could wire each one to the wreath and/or driftwood.

This is what it looks like. Drill each side and run the wire through

This is what it looks like. Drill each side and run the wire through

I took the wire cutters and cut the flowers

I took the wire cutters and cut the flowers

2 bouquets-one had smaller sunflowers and i wanted a contrast of sizes

2 bouquets-one had smaller sunflowers and i wanted a contrast of sizes

The birdhouses wired in place. this took me the longest to get them just right

The birdhouses wired in place. this took me the longest to get them just right

I cut about 4" strips of burlap for the ribbon and one for the bow

I cut about 4″ strips of burlap for the ribbon and one for the bow

I had someone hold the burlap in the middle and tied a bow. had to mess with it until I got it the way i wanted

I had someone hold the burlap in the middle and tied a bow. had to mess with it until I got it the way i wanted

I had 3 birdhouses. I do things in odd numbers. a designer told me this years ago.

I had 3 birdhouses. I do things in odd numbers. a designer told me this years ago.

Drilled a hole in the driftwood for the scarecrow and hot glued his stick in place. I also took a strip of burlap and hot glued that.

Drilled a hole in the driftwood for the scarecrow and hot glued his stick in place. I also took a strip of burlap and hot glued that.

yard, bed 635

Carefully glued the burlap in several places.

yard, bed 683

I glued on the 2 birds which do not have to be added

for the birds

This is what I used to seal the birds

i took the bird off the package and put it on this way to hold it while i lightly brushed on poly. let dry and do it again 2x more. let dry!

i took the bird off the package and put it on this way to hold it while i lightly brushed on poly. let dry and do it again 2x more. let dry!

do not brush it on too much or the colors will run.

do not brush it on too much or the colors will run.

fold the card over and you have an instant stand!

fold the card over and you have an instant stand!

Leave a Reply

