#1 Forgotten Step in Creating your Gardens and Outdoor Spaces

My yard which desperately needs rain!

My yard which desperately needs rain!

Forgotten? Yes!

When you are creating and planting all those beautiful plants and placing your bit of ‘whimsy’, have you ever considered what it looks like from the inside out?

From the inside of your home to the outside- what does the area look like from the bedroom window? or the walk out from the front door? or even from the kitchen window?

Or how does your garden look when you walk from the back yard going to the front yard?

Is it a just the back of a green plant and a ho hum view?

Well, since summer is winding down this is the best time to take pictures from all (or most) the windows in your home and figure out how to make the view from the inside out look as good as the curbside in.

view from the window 009Even when I am planting in a bed, I set the plant in the spot and walk around to see if it works. Sometimes I have to use my imagination if the new division or plant is small and I guesstimate how tall and wide it will be. There are no hard fast rules to plant placement (for height or width) or location (front, middle, or back of bed). From my view of nature, there are no straight lines, short to tall, and 12″ apart kind of rules; there are only those restricted by your own perception of what the rules are and what we may have read in a book.

A book.

Who made up the rules of gardening? Who told you that if you do this, that will happen? Nature is the rule writer and we are just her workers busily creating happy places for own enjoyment and pleasure. Gardening, at least for me, is creating a piece of paradise in this crazy world we live in that is filled with malls, concrete, and noise.

this was taken in early August before my shed was built

this was taken in early August before my shed was built

The one important piece of knowledge a gardener must know is what sun or shade requirements the plants have. Otherwise, gardening is an experiment or maybe even a test of our patience and ability to cope. I have had some sad moments when I tried to grow something that just would not grow. I have moved plants many times until I found a spot that worked. Sometimes I have given away that one plant that just did not grow to my expectations but in someone else’s yard it took off (much to my dismay).

Patience is important.

shed project random flower 049The front yard (minus the mailbox where the Black eyed Susans are abundantly happy the rest of the bed was dug up and a work in progress since the spring of 2013. I live in zone 7b so I have many months of moving, playing, and wondering if my ‘babies’ are going to grow. I could never move back to a lower zone, ever.  I purchase many of my plants from the markdown racks or grow my seed that I just casually throw down in the fall or sometimes early spring. My garden is as random as I am-at times- and I do not like straight lines or front to back height charts. I am a put in the ground where it looks good kind of gardener. I garden from all angles-from the front, back, and close up to the curb and from the 2nd story window.

“My yard is my canvass and nature is my paintbrush” by Me

Not the best pic through a closed window

Not the best pic through a closed 2nd story window

View from the kitchen window right below

View from the kitchen window right below

It is important to look from the windows! This is the view you will see every day and a view that may or may not give you a feeling of peace and joy.

What about creating a welcoming entrance for you? This is my side garage entrance where we enter every day and night. I feel so calm when I see this and enjoy all the colors and textures of the shade garden.

Taken 8/15/2014

Taken 8/15/2014

this is what I first see walking up drive

this is what I first see walking up drive

this is what I see as I stand by the garage door looking to the back door

this is what I see as I stand by the garage door looking to the back door

View from the back yard looking to the front

View from the back yard looking to the front

Gardening is an art form to me. I find that when I create using different plants in varying heights in random patterns I get this portrait of a beauty that sometimes makes my gardens come to life.

Stand from afar and walk up close. What do you see?

From the gate walking into the back yard

From the gate walking into the back yard

yard projects 164It is important to plan your garden from all angles so that you and anyone who walks through can be in awe as their eyes flow from one area to the next. I have many more pics to share but for today I hoped to have inspired you to get our your cameras and start thinking about what you want from your views next spring and summer.

Happy gardening!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2014/2015 copyrighted material by C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

Please check out my Pinterest boards, Hometalk, and my Garden Frog Facebook page and follow me and we will build and create wonderful gardens together

Leave a Reply

