My garden tool handle project

shed project random flower 513I have all kinds of garden tools and many just sit waiting for me to put them to use.

Well since I was building a garden shed I wanted a really cool idea for a handle so I looked through my garden tools and found this in the back of the tool ‘mailbox’. It was so simple that all you need is a drill and bit that is the same size as the screw you use to screw it to the door. That’s it.

I started slowly at the end of the handle. I have found that usually the metal part of the tool does not go to the end of the handle in cheap tools

I started slowly at the end of the handle. I have found that usually the metal part of the tool does not go to the end of the handle in cheap tools

this took a bit of careful planning. I put the handle where i wanted it and screw it in. Then I marked where the tine hit the door and marked it. Backed off the tool and drilled the top hole for the middle tine to go in to

this took a bit of careful planning. I put the handle where i wanted it and screw it in. Then I marked where the tine hit the door and marked it. Backed off the tool and drilled the top hole for the middle tine to go in to

I had to use the drill bit to make the hole a bit larger so I could hammer the middle tine in a bit. and then I screwed the tool back on the door

I had to use the drill bit to make the hole a bit larger so I could hammer the middle tine in a bit. and then I screwed the tool back on the door

I made a handle from a cheap garden tool and had a gate latch hubby modified so that if someone gets 'locked in' the shed they can pull the special release and get out. He is brilliant!

I made a handle from a cheap garden tool and had a gate latch hubby modified so that if someone gets ‘locked in’ the shed they can pull the special release and get out. He is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

