Upcycling the old ugly window

2014-08-12 12.13.19Upcycling old windows has become a great project for many people. Many of the projects you see have old windows with no missing panes…

so what are you to do if it is missing a pane?

I scrounged through my craft room and found this metal sign I had and then I realized it was the perfect fit for the missing pane. I kept hunting for other materials to use and found my stencils to just add a bit of color to the faded window. I hand painted the lettering which I think adds to the charm.

I got out my drill, wire, and a drill bit a hair larger than the wire so I could hang the metal sign.I used the holes in the metal sign as the template at the top of the window so that the metal sign would gracefully hang in the empty pane. I drilled the holes carefully gliding the bit in and out so that the hole would be clean and ready for the wire. I then pushed the wire through and twisted the ends into curls.

I then decided to take off the old hinges on the left side. I thought about where the window was going to hang so I got out a larger bit and drilled 2 holes at the top of the window for mounting. I used 2 outdoor screws and carefully guided the screws into the drilled holes to mount on the wall.

Now I have 2 more windows to do something with before hubby reminds again how I have too many ideas, too many plants, too many projects going on…

What is life without creating?

2014-08-12 12.18.05

The window that was hiding out under the deck. I found this while in GA visiting my BFF

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening with the rules!2014-08-12 12.14.50(1)

For the metal sign to hang nicely I used it for the template to drill holes for the wire (which I used to hang the sign)

For the metal sign to hang nicely I used it for the template to drill holes for the wire (which I used to hang the sign)

 

Leave a Reply

