DIY basic clay pot bird feeder

Basic clay pot birdfeeder

Basic clay pot birdfeeder

My good friend and neighbor is fascinated with my yard (and me) and always stops by when walking her dog by my house to stop and see what I am working on in the driveway. Living in the suburbs has its pluses and minuses but for the most part creating in my driveway usually gets me someone stopping to see what I am doing.

So the other day Cathy stops and asks me “Renee can you build me a bird feeder?” Since I have built her birdhouses and a potting bench, it is only fitting she asks me to make her something for her garden. I must have looked at her puzzled because she said to me “I looked at the store and they are plastic and I don’t want plastic I want something homemade”. I said to her “let me see what I can do and I will get it done this weekend”. I slept on it and in the morning I knew how I was going to make it. So On Friday I headed to the craft store and Walmart (I try not buy from Walmart but they had the best price on the small 6″clay pot and 6″ saucer). Using your coupons at Hobby Lobby or you favorite craft store can get the price down using their 40-50% off coupon.

9/10" saucer; 6" saucer; 6" pot

9/10″ saucer; 6″ saucer; 6″ pot

I looked on other sites to see if my idea was original (well as original as it could be) and found one similar but more complicated. I was relieved because creating something that is unique and original is a ‘high’ for me. I find my enthusiasm comes from finding deals either in the clearance section or at a garage sale-does not matter which one because creating cool projects others can copy is so much fun!

The clay pot and 2 saucers were around $4. I had the wire but wire is another one of those crafter supplies you have on hand. The eye bolt & nut and washers were less than $1.50. You will have to invest in some masonry bits and/or diamond bit hole saw (Rigid at Home Depot has a great deal on diamond bit 1/2″ & 1″ hole saws). You cannot drill through clay pots with a regular drill bit. Believe me when I say I tried. It is a small investment but it is not a wasted investment since masonry bits can go through tile, brick, cement block, and clay pots. Investing in supplies is a part of being creative so you cannnot really put a price tag on a project like this unless you are going to sell them and then you would have to know how many projects you are going to do with the drill bits or tools you purchase. Safety glasses are another must have when using power tools.

Supplies: masonry drill bit a bit bigger than the eye bolt, 2 large washers, 1/2" drill bit or diamond bit hole saw

Supplies: masonry drill bit a bit bigger than the eye bolt, 2 large washers, 1/2″ drill bit or diamond bit hole saw

The clay pots need to be wet when you drill otherwise the drill bit gets hot. You also need to keep the drill bit wet while drilling. Do not wear white or good clothes-brick dust stains. It is easier with two people but if you have a work bench with a vice so the clay pot can be secured while your drilling is important unless you have strong hands. You are going to be drilling 3 holes in the large saucer for drainage and 1 hole in the middle of both the large saucer and the small saucer with the small drill bit and then 3 holes with the 1/2″ bit on the clay pot.

The whole process took less than an hour. The clay bird feeder is heavy filled with bird seed so make sure the hook or bracket is strong to hold the weight.

you can see the 3 marks from moving the ruler with the pencil on the mark

you can see the 3 marks from moving the ruler with the pencil on the mark

The 1" hole in the clay pot took some steady holding and time-plus making sure to keep the hole saw wet. The drill bit would probably be easier on a curved surface.

Space out the   3- 1″ hole in the clay pot at the bottom.  Drilling these took some steady holding and time-plus making sure to keep the hole saw wet. The drill bit would probably be easier on a curved surface.

to drill 3 holes on the edgte of the saucer for drainage, I filled the saucer with some water to keep the bit cooled

to drill 3 holes on the edgte of the saucer for drainage, I filled the saucer with some water to keep the bit cooled

Still have water in it for the last hole.

Still have water in it for the last hole.

Time to put the eye bolt  and washer through the holes in the pot and saucer and then

Time to put the eye bolt and washer through the holes in the pot and saucer and then

Turn upside down to put washer and then nut (you can also get a locking washer to make sure the nut does not loosen. make sure the nut is tight.

Turn upside down to put washer and then nut (you can also get a locking washer to make sure the nut does not loosen. make sure the nut is tight.

run the wire up throught the hole in the small saucer for the top

run the wire up through the hole in the small saucer for the top

I just happen to have a S hook and so twisted wire on one end

I just happen to have a S hook and so twisted wire on one end

Had the hubby tighten the end with the wire together to make sure wire stays put

Had the hubby tighten the end with the wire together to make sure wire stays put

To fill the feeder all you have to do is slide the saucer lid up and fill!

To fill the feeder all you have to do is slide the saucer lid up and fill!

Fill with bird seed. I used a mix of cracked corn, sunflowers, and millet to make sure the bird feeder 'worked'. It rained last night and this morning the feeder was still in tact

Fill with bird seed. I used a mix of cracked corn, sunflowers, and millet to make sure the bird feeder ‘worked’. It rained last night and this morning the feeder was still in tact

This bird feeder has more potential. It could be painted, stenciled, and personalized for a gift. What gardener would not want this hanging in their garden? My friend Cathy just wanted it plain and simple and since I was so excited to create this simple bird feeder for less than $6 I had to share!

I will be making more of these but I will definitely have to paint them!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

Also check me out on Hometalk!

What you will need: 1/2″ masonry bit, masonry bit slightly larger than the eye bolt and nut, 2 washers for the eye bolt and nut, clay pot and saucers, safety glasses,  I used about 18″wire and wire cutters, S hook, and water. Oh and cannot forget bird seed.  I used a cracked corn, millet, and small sunflower mix in the pic.

 

 

 

One thought on “DIY basic clay pot bird feeder

Leave a Reply

