Teapot and cacti in the garden

My tea pot and cups a friend gave me in New Mexico

My tea pot and cups a friend gave me in New Mexico

A couple weeks ago hubby and I drove to Belen NM to visit friends and gather rock (well I was there to gather rock). I did bring back about 500 lbs or more of beautiful desert sandstone, few Cottonwood branches, an old pottery tea pot, and a few pieces of cacti. I am not a cactus person at all so when I stepped on the prickly pear with sandals on I knew that it was coming with me.

Prickly pear and another cactus that I saw in the fields everywhere in NM which got huge with beautiful purple flowers

Prickly pear and another cactus that I saw in the fields everywhere in NM which got huge with beautiful purple flowers

We had stopped heading out of New Mexico at an old truck stop to stretch our legs and that is when I walked over the edge of parking lot, and not looking, stepped on the prickly cactus.

OUCH!

Hubby asking “are you alright?”

“Yes and thanks for the concern” as I mumbled. Then when I looked up again and over about a foot was the other kind of cactus all by itself. I think is the same ones that I saw in the ranchers fields with the cows about 4 or 5 tall and with flowers. Seriously, I am not a cactus or succulent person. I am a lush green flowering kind of gal. But…I had this tea pot which was given to me that I had to use somehow…

took my masonry bit and drilled a hole in this very old teapot and cups

took my masonry bit and drilled a hole in this very old teapot and cups

drilled hole in each cup too

drilled hole in each cup too

filled about 1/3 way with rocks

filled about 1/3 way with rocks

I used rocks on the bottom then i just used sand and a little bit of compost together for the cacti

I used rocks on the bottom then i just used sand and a little bit of compost together for the cacti

I did not have any special soil so I just mixed sand and some of my potting/compost mix together and put rocks on top. I do not know if this will work through winter but for now it looks so colorful and unique it may just grow on me.

I use just about anything to pot a plant. There are no limits to what you can do with something somebody else does not want!

I put the large prickly pear in the hypertufa planter I made a few weeks ago and small prickly went into a couple cups

I put the large prickly pear in the hypertufa planter I made a few weeks ago and small prickly went into a couple cups

For now this seems to work in this spot. plus I am reminded of my trip to NM every day

For now this seems to work in this spot. plus I am reminded of my trip to NM every day

 Create. Inspire.  Gardening without the rules!

2014/2015 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller @the Garden Frog Boutique

Leave a Reply

