Make your own hypertufa solar light holder

I love creating and inspiring as much as gardening. Passion is more than knowledge and without passion life would be boring!

As my skill level progresses with hypertufa, I hope to create more solar light holders to adorn my dry stream. I am also looking to the future and the possibility of extra income but for now creating, posting, pinning, and inspiring others makes me happy. My instructions can be adapted to whatever leaves you use and do not get discouraged if the first time you fail. Believe me when I say that I have had some EPIC fails but I do not let them set me back. Check out Hometalk {www.hometalk.com/creneefuller } where I have posted the directions as well.

Mix equal parts of sand &  peat moss and about 1 1/2 times more Portland cement. Add water and mix and add more water to get a consistency like peanut butter

Mix equal parts of sand & peat moss and about 1 1/2 times more Portland cement. Add water and mix and add more water to get a consistency like peanut butter

Picked 3 hosta leaves about 4-5"

Picked 3 hosta leaves about 4-5″

slightly mounded the sand and picked off the stems of the hosta leaves. I mounded up a bit of sand in the middle where I knew I would place the solar light

slightly mounded the sand and picked off the stems of the hosta leaves. I mounded up a bit of sand in the middle where I knew I would place the solar light

I spread the hypertufa mix over the leaves trying to make the shape of the leaves. Didn't quite work this time because I put too much water after i t had dried out from another project. No worries because it will dry out

I spread the hypertufa mix over the leaves trying to make the shape of the leaves. Didn’t quite work this time because I put too much water after i t had dried out from another project. No worries because it will dry out

about 12 hours later I picked it up (still damp) and peeled off the hosta leaves

about 12 hours later I picked it up (still damp) and peeled off the hosta leaves

I had an 1/2" masonry bit which was the size of the plastic 'rod' for the solar light from Walmart. I know you could use a regular drill bit because hypertufa was soft.

I had an 1/2″ masonry bit which was the size of the plastic ‘rod’ for the solar light from Walmart. I know you could use a regular drill bit because hypertufa was soft.

I used the hack saw to cut down the post-took little effort to saw this

I used the hack saw to cut down the post-took little effort to saw this

I picked off some of the chunks and tried to clean up the edges. Next time I may not wait 12 hours so I can shape the leaves a bit better

I picked off some of the chunks and tried to clean up the edges. Next time I may not wait 12 hours so I can shape the leaves a bit better

Top view in the dry stream bed

Top view in the dry stream bed

The solar votive holder

The solar votive holder

this looks really cool at night!

this looks really cool at night!

 

Creating, inspiring, and gardening without the rules!

 

5 thoughts on “Make your own hypertufa solar light holder

  1. Pingback: Transform Hosta Leaves Into This Beautiful Garden Project

  2. Pingback: Make your own Hypertufa Solar Light Holder | DIY Hypertufa Garden Art

Leave a Reply

