Making your very own garden flower

My new garden flowers!

My new garden flowers!

A trip into the Dollar Tree for a frame found me excited over a colorful plastic chip/dip tray. When I saw the stacks of colorful trays shaped like a flower I knew what I was going to do- make garden flowers out of hypertufa or concrete. So I picked up two and started on a hunt…

I have to tell you that trip lost me about an hour of time as I perused the shelves of each aisle looking for more ideas and ‘molds’ for my concrete projects. Even though I did not find anything else suited for concrete projects, I realized that I must go to Dollar Tree more often because I could be missing out on other cool project ideas.

$1 Dollar Tree 'mold'

$1 Dollar Tree ‘mold’

I made these flowers out of hypertufa this time because I have been seeing so much about the stuff so i have been experimenting myself with different recipes and

‘molds’. It is fun to work with it because when it is the consistency of peanut butter you can mold it better. Plus if you get too much water in it, just let it sit and stir it every few minutes until it dries up some. I just mix Portland cement, sand, and peat moss. I really do not have exact measures because I just look at it and scoop about equal parts of each and then add a bit more Portland cement. Add water slowly and I have an attachment for the drill that stirs paints and now my concrete! But word of caution-use electric drill and have plenty of energy because it is tiring work on your hands and back to stir. I find that the peat moss really sucks up the water and you have to keep mixing for a long time because the peat moss is so dry. Peat Moss is about $11 a bag but it will last you for several projects because when you open the large cubed bag it will expand when you start to scoop it out.

Mix equal parts of sand &  peat moss and about 1 1/2 times more Portland cement. Add water and mix and add more water to get a consistency like peanut butter

Mix equal parts of sand & peat moss and about 1 1/2 times more Portland cement. Add water and mix and add more water to get a consistency like peanut butter

spray the mold with WD40 (which i think works perfect) or anything else you find to make it non stick

spray the mold with WD40 (which i think works perfect) or anything else you find to make it non stick

Constantly pat the hypertufa and it will smooth out to fill the mold

Constantly pat the hypertufa and it will smooth out to fill the mold and  make sure to keep hypertufa the shape of the mold

Keep adding hypertufa until it slightly mounds so it is thick enough not to break

Keep adding hypertufa until it slightly mounds so it is thick enough not to break

Next morning it is somewhat dry and ready to pop out

Next morning it is somewhat dry and ready to pop out

The flower pops out with a bit of prying off

The flower pops out with a bit of prying off

Leaving one natural

Leaving one natural

Had some purple spray paint left and put some black in the center and then lightly sprayed the purple over it. you can paint any color!

Had some purple spray paint left and put some black in the center and then lightly sprayed the purple over it. you can paint any color!

My next batch of flowers I am using concrete to see how they turn out (concrete is easier to work with). I am also going to work with more hypertufa to make hanging flowers for my fence but will need to make the mixture lighter. But for now, the flowers will sit against a tree or under a bush to greet my garden visitors.

I have fun creating and inspiring others to create happy spaces. This project could be a fun activity for the kids this summer and make sure to make some for friends and family.

Happy gardening everyone!

Creating, inspiring, and gardening without the rules!

4 thoughts on “Making your very own garden flower

  1. Pingback: DIY Whimsical Garden Flower - The Frugal Female

  2. Hi..so cleaver..I am new to craft projects..think I can do this one.. What kind of cement do u use? Thinking there is craft cement..not regular cement for sidewalks.. Thanks..Bonnie

Leave a Reply

