Every gardener needs a mailbox or two!

My potting bench and mailbox for tools-2 must haves

My potting bench and mailbox for tools-2 must haves

Every gardener needs a mailbox for storing hand tools such as pruners and hand shovels. I have used mailboxes for years even before Pinterest and sites like Hometalk existed. Everyone thought I was weird but now my upcycling efforts are not so ‘weird’.

The blue mailbox is set on a post and houses an extra set of gardening tools and gloves

The blue mailbox is set on a post and houses an extra set of gardening tools and gloves

I am lazy when it comes to putting away my tools and I have to have something easy and in reach so that I do not walk off and forget to put them away. Yes, I will admit that I am guilty of having those occasional, okay maybe frequent, times where I get side tracked and walk off to start something else or talk to a neighbor passing by. Using mailboxes works perfect for storing small tools and even gloves (as long as you do not have ants). I am all about convenience!

My potting bench is made from 100+ year old barn boards and 4×4 timbers I had and so I knew the legs would hold the mailbox. I have another mailbox on a post cemented in the

Cut the ends of the boards at 45 degrees and whatever length you need

Cut the ends of the boards at 45 degrees and whatever length you need

ground in another area too. I cut the boards about 30″ with 45 degree angles cut the opposite ways and then I gathered up 6-3″ screws to attach the boards to the bench. I also found a piece of board that the mailbox could sit on to attach to the legs just as you would on a mailbox post. I then found a few 2″ screws so I could attach the board and then the mailbox. I got out my drill driver with screw driver attachment and my drill with a drill bit small enough for a pilot hole for the 3″ screws. I always pre-drill pilot holes so I do not take a chance and split the wood. I drilled 3 holes in a triangle pattern to attach to the leg of the potting bench. This whole process took me about an hour (probably would be less if I had not been interrupted by the dogs).

I am all about making life easier and less complicated so I can spend the time doing what I love-gardening and creating. I hope that this gets you looking for your very own mini tool shed to add to your garden and maybe even build a potting bench so that you can enjoy more gardening!

Happy gardening everyone!

Creating. Inspiring. Gardening without the rules!

2014 copyrighted material C Renee Fuller

Leave a Reply

