How to propagate a Hydrangea with a wire coat hanger!

Yes-I said propagate a hydrangea with a coat hanger.

There are many posts about propagating plants with cuttings, potatoes, water, rooting hormone, etc but I am here to show you the easiest and fool proof way to propagate hydrangeas that will not take up space, pots, or time. There is no special care and no special instructions after you are done.It is easy as 1,2,3 and 4 & 5!

These hydrangeas are what I planted last summer at my good friend and neighbor's house. The small plant in the picture was transplanted a couple weeks ago from my method of propagation

These hydrangeas are what I planted last summer at my good friend and neighbor’s house. The small plant in the picture was transplanted a couple weeks ago from my method of propagation

Because all you need to do is:

  • grab a wire hanger,

  • cut,

  • push in,

  • cover,

  • and wait.

    Wire coat hanger from my hubby's closet

    Wire coat hanger from my hubby’s closet

    Cut the wire coat hanger I had to wiggle the wire back and forth until it snapped

    Cut the wire coat hanger I had to wiggle the wire back and forth until it snapped

    Take a lower branch and lay it down

    Take a lower branch and lay it down

    Push in the wire coat hanger

    Push in the wire coat hanger

    Cover with dirt and wait

    Cover with dirt and wait

I do not know about you but I do not have the room for cups and pots. I also do not have the patience nor the time to water any more plants or worry about about long it is going to take them to root. I want easy and I want foolproof.

I love gardening…

but like everyone else, I have a busy life creating, working, blogging, writing, and being a mom, wife, and friend. I also made a pact with my family that I would not look like a greenhouse in the house or the yard so I have my potting area which is the hospital for  the sick, trampled and chomped. I also have a nursery area where I grow the plants after they have been ‘revived’ and then I may move, barter, or give them away. Living in the suburbs on my 1/4 acre lot gives me limited space to grow so I sometimes just grow something for a while to pass it on to the next plant lover.

I have done this ‘coat hanger’ propagation with a couple neighbors and they were thrilled when they had new babies to transplant without any fuss. It can take a couple months in the summer when it is hot and dry *unless you water then it can take less time*. Hydrangeas have got to be the easiest plants to propagate and if you do not have a wire coat hanger use a stone! Just lay down the lowest hydrangea branch, put a clump of dirt, and cover with a rock. Easy Peasy!

I have done this method many times with Azaleas, Forsythias, and Aucuba japanica (Japanese aucubas). I think it will work for most soft wood branches and will work for many plants that vine as well. Good luck and I hope and I hope you are motivated to go out and make some babies!random yard potting area 122

Happy gardening everyone!

 

 

Happy gardening!

2 thoughts on “How to propagate a Hydrangea with a wire coat hanger!

  1. Hi, I just purchased 3 huge Hydrangea root balls that are 20+years old from a woman downsizing her garden area
    They are so big I can barely lift them so I may dig a huge hole and try this with the extra branches
    Do you know the best way to split up huge root balls to make smaller plantings? Not sure where to cut and don’t want to kill them
    Thank you
    😀🌺

    • i am sorry I did not see this- i have another blog that i am trying to merge with this one. do you still need help? because you can gently pull the hydrangeas apart if you see mulitple stems. plus take the long stems just as I did in the blog to start more plants

Leave a Reply

