Adding a little something to the garden

 

My antique red wagon holding a few pots greeting the passerby

My antique red wagon holding a few pots greeting the passerby

Adding a touch of your own personality is something I do in many areas of my naturescape.

My tucked in the flower bed

My tucked in the flower bed

I love to put together a small vignette or even put a garden statue under a bush to keep visitors in my garden surprised. Sending a personal message to those who pass by and enjoy the beautiful flowers and smells of your garden with a bit of whimsy is what I love to do. I also break the rules of my HOA but so far I have more smiles than frowns.

Creating whimsy is a careful balance of fun and smiles and avoiding looking like a store shelf lined with gnomes and toads. You want to use the bushes and the flowers to create secret pockets for your statue to sit and surprise the passerby. I find it fun to move things around and keep my neighbors wondering…

An old metal chair spray painted for the garden. I attached old barn boards for the seat and cut out the square to the hold pot. Then in the back drop a  birdhouse for my feathered visitors and lizards climbing the tree

An old metal chair spray painted for the garden. I attached old barn boards for the seat and cut out the square to the hold pot. Then in the back drop a birdhouse for my feathered visitors and lizards climbing the tree

There are so many ways to be creative even if you do not think you are. Using a red wagon to hold pots or finding an old chair and cutting a hole in the seat to make a plant stand are just a couple ways to add a bit of whimsy in your garden. Tucking a statue under a flower so that it appears to be peeking out is another fun way to play in the garden.

You can go to Pinterest, Hometalk, or any other gardening site to see what others are doing in their garden. Getting inspired can also be as easy as taking a walk and seeing what other gardeners are doing.

Do not feel bad if you do not like what someone else has done. Be graceful and polite and tell them that it is ‘unique’ or ‘different’ but never be negative and burst someone else’s accomplishments! We are all different and we all need to support each other and keep each other inspired.

I do not like clutter so creating vignettes or tucking a toad in a flower are ways for me to create whimsy and still keep my yard from looking like a garage sale. I love creating and sharing this with others and find it satisfying to help others find uses for stuff they have lying around. I do have to make one comment-
do not use an idea, statue, or even garden art if it does not make you smile. Gardening is passion and passion is from within…

your passion is from your soul and no one else can feel what you feel. So make your gardens as unique and creative as you want. And do not worry about what others will think because it is your life and live it like you love it.

Have a great day and happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

